Artist Research – Bridget Riley

“I work with nature, although in completely new terms.” Bridget Riley

No painter, dead or alive, has ever made us more aware of our eyes than Bridget Riley.” Robert Melville, 1971

I have been a fan of Bridget Riley’s work for a number of years. Having first seen it in books and online I was impressed by the mathematical perfection and visual manipulation of her work. I saw her work exhibited in Birmingham in 2012 (I think) and her use of large scale canvases and bold colours really inspired me and helped me move forward with my own practice. I am referencing her work as artist research for this project because I think that her large scale paintings are something I’d like to work with. I want to create work that the viewer needs to take a step away from to make sense of what they’re looking at.

Leave a comment